PDA

View Full Version : Installing games


09-25-2005, 01:48 PM
Do i have to install the games, or does TCAdmin install them for me?

ECF
09-25-2005, 02:14 PM
You will need a copy of the server files for each game you wish to host. The automation process does install the game(s) once you have configured it correctly.



So if you are asking, do we provide you with the game files. The answer is no.

Blindbasher
09-25-2005, 02:26 PM
So i install the game, and put the game info in, and it reinstalls a copy to each account or somthing?

ECF
09-25-2005, 02:35 PM
You put a copy of the game files into a certain directory structure. And then TCAdmin creates a copy of those files into a users directory.

Blindbasher
09-25-2005, 04:15 PM
Ok, so i would say install it like this:

C:\Programs and files\Wolfenstein - enemy territory\ and it would install sub dirs with the same files etc?

ECF
09-25-2005, 04:26 PM
Same idea, but you would create a directory structure for the panel which would be something like this:



C:\GameInstalls <----- This being were you would store all of your game files in sub-directories.



Then you would have your userfiles directory such as

C:\ClientFiles <----- where the client files would be copied when you create a new gameserver.

Blindbasher
09-25-2005, 05:05 PM
So it requires a isntallation of the game for each user?

ECF
09-25-2005, 05:18 PM
Correct. Each instance has it's own set of files.

Blindbasher
09-26-2005, 10:30 AM
Right, so i need to upgrade my harddrives. Do you reccomend any server hosts?

LFA
09-26-2005, 12:59 PM
why do you need to upgrade your hard drives? :shock: unless you have some old 6GB drives you should not need to. :razz:



If you have more than one server you can use ftp for automatic game setups. This means you can keep all the game installation files zipped or rared in one server and it will automatically transfer them to the other server when needed and delete them when finished.

ECF
09-26-2005, 01:04 PM
Right, so i need to upgrade my harddrives. Do you reccomend any server hosts?






http://www.tcadmin.com/forum/index.php?t=thread&frm_id=2 (http://www.tcadmin.com/forum/index.php?t=thread&frm_id=25&rid=2) 5&rid=2