PDA

View Full Version : Where should I put TCADMIN?!


08-05-2006, 11:07 AM
I have a rented webserver and am purchasing a co-location server which will act as my master server. I am correct in saying, TCADMIN must be is better installed on the master server yes? And if I was to sue modernbill, does that go on the master server to, or on the webserver along with the website?



Adam

08-05-2006, 11:20 AM
LOL. Woops, damn wireless keyboard made all that come out wrong. Let me re-word for you.



I have rented a webserver and I am purchasing a co-location server which will act as my master server. Am I correct in saying, TCADMIN is better installed on the master server, yes? And if I was to use modernbill, does that go on the master server to, or on the webserver along with the website?



Adam



Well thats better :grin:

ECF
08-05-2006, 12:28 PM
Both TCAdmin and Modernbill require access to an acually server to be installed properly. So you will need to put both a dedicated server.

08-05-2006, 03:34 PM
So do you mean the modernbill and tcadmin BOTH have to be on the server I'm building?



Could I have the order form on the website though?



If modernbill is on the master server, how would the website communicate with modernbill.



And, as well as tcadmina and mdoernbill on one server, I could still run games on it ASWELL? Not THAT much cpu is taken..?

ECF
08-05-2006, 03:41 PM
Modernbill requires that you have access to the server in order to install it properly. This would include MYSql access to create a database, and access to create the cronjob for autosetup.



Most hosting accounts will not allow you to do this.



TCAdmin works in a similar fashion. You could put the website and database on a hosting account, but you will most likely run into trouble with ports being blocked that are needed by the software.



The modernbill can communicate with the TCAdmin API regardless of where it is installed. But since you only have 1 dedicated server, you will have to make do with what you have.



If you have never used modernbill, I would suggest downloading their trial version and installing it, and taking a look at it first.



The setup of the integration requires you have a knowlege of the software. If you don't I would not suggest using it.



Our module is not a simple drop in and go type solution. You will be required to configure both Modernbill and the packages for the games, along with the TCAdmin variables.

08-05-2006, 05:22 PM
Oh of course. My webserver supports php, mysql databases etc and I have advanced knowledge of them. The cronjob is also not a problem at all.



Blocked ports arer not a problem either. Upon request the host immedietly sorts firewall issues.



I guess it is best to install TCadmin on the master server. It is more important then modernbill at first I suppose. I do require to install php and mysql on the server then, correct? TCADMIN does require mysql and php, yes?



I think theres a bit of confusion in this topic. I will just clarify everything now. These are the 2 'places' I have:



WEBHOSTING ACCOUNT:

PHP INSTALLED

MYSQL INSTALLED

ACCESS TO SHELL/CRONJOBS ETC

THIS WILL BE PLACE WHERE WEBSITE IS



CO-LOCATION SERVER (NOT YET BUILT), I THINK I REQUIRE:

PHP INSTALLED

MYSQL INSTALLED



So basically my question is. What would you do in this situation. Should I dump both modernbill and tcadmin to the webhosting and then have them control the gameservers on the co-location server. Or should I try a different combination? E.g TCADMIN on the CO-LOCATION server and MODERNBILL on the webhosting account...what would you do?



Adam

ECF
08-05-2006, 06:12 PM
If you have access to shell for your hosting account, I would put the Modernbill install there. It will still be able to communicate to our software wherever you put it.



For our software, you will need to put it on the dedicated server most likely, as it requires MS IIS and some form of a database (Access or MYSql). Unless your hosting account is Windows based. Then you could put the website and database there as well.